Top 5 Annoying Things I Encounter While Attending Indie Soul Concerts

zen-crowdNow don’t get me wrong, I LOVE going to shows of some of my favorite artists. I love live music and enjoy the overall vibe of the people there as well as the performers. However, there are a few things that annoy the hell out of me when attending these shows. Since I mostly go to see independent soul artists, I noticed a few common things that I run into at quite a few of them. Here are my top 5.

5. Afros Galore – The biggest Afros are out in full force at these shows, no doubt. All naturals take the opportunity to show off their latest styles and try to outdo the other. They should have a competition on who has the biggest, most super fly hair. It would be an event in itself. Saying this as a natural Sista myself, I have no problem with natural hair. I LOVE being natural and appreciate seeing my fellow Brothas and Sistas wearing their hair and embracing the way it grows out of our scalp, towards the sun, the way God intended. What I don’t enjoy is it blocking my view while I’m trying to get a good visual of what I paid good money to see.

4. Is A Size Small Too Much To Ask For? – I run into this problem ALOT. Usually before, during and after a show, lots of artists are known to sell their CDs and paraphernalia. My concert ritual is to always check this out after the show is over. So here I go to wait on a long line of fellow soul fans anxiously waiting to support my artist. When I finally get to the table, to my dismay, I get “Sorry, we don’t have anymore smalls. We have medium, large and extra-large”. When I hear this a sudden attack of the eye rolls ensues. Then I get, “Well medium will look nice on you”. Then they proceed to pull one of them out and it looks huge for a medium. Happens to me every time.

3. Never Starts On Time – I hate to say it, but I have never been to a show that actually started with the opening act when the ticket says the show is supposed to start. NEVER. If it’s supposed to start at 8:00 PM, nine times out of ten it MIGHT start an hour later. I went to one show where the show started late and the opening act, not the headliner, started the show an hour and a half late and their set lasted an hour. Who does that?! I enjoyed that artist, however, I didn’t pay to see them. On top of that the headliner only performed for an hour at best. The guilty shall remain nameless here, but I’m sure you get my drift.

2. Can You Please Sit Down!?! – This makes me want to nash my teeth into a powdery substance! I understand that you may be feeling the vibe, the music, and the artist. I can appreciate that because I go can there too…but don’t think you are the only one in the daggone room! This kills me. People will stand through an entire song or two just swaying, oblivious to their surroundings, because this is their “jam”. I did not pay to see your ass swaying in front of me to the soundtrack of my favorite artist. Not cool. If you are guilty of this, please check yourself.

1. Standing Room Only – Really? – My number one pet peeve. I hate venues like this and unfortunately a lot of indie soul music concerts are held in these so called “intimate” dwellings. I understand that artists in this genre may have a smaller following and thought goes to filling these smaller venues with no seating. Some artists are not in a position to play in bigger and seated venues. I get that. However, my personal preference is to sit down and listen to my artist. If I want to get up and groove, I can go and do that too, without disturbing anyone’s view (see #2). I shouldn’t be made to stand for 3+ hours straight! Especially if I want to wear my cute shoes that I just bought to go with my outfit that I just had to wear to THIS show. I don’t want to have to wear unflattering flats to every show I go to. Can a Sista be cute in her heels and sit down? Also another problem I have with this is that these particular venues are not short people friendly. I am 5’2″, so ANYONE standing in front of me is a problem. I will say that this has kept me from going to a few shows. I have to REALLY want to see the artist if I go to a standing room only venue. Now if it’s a House music show, well hey, I’m all for standing up and dancing all night with my flats in tow.

What are your pet peeves when attending Indie Soul shows?

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Annoying Things I Encounter While Attending Indie Soul Concerts

  1. Yes standing room only is a BITCH! I went to a Pac Div show recently and there were so many opening acts and we had to stand the entire time. I was ready to leave by the time Pac Div finally came on. And don’t try to be cute in some flat sandals chile BRING YOUR NIKES! Great Post! And Yes it is ALWAYS certain that Erykah Badu and Lauryn Hill will be late!! ,

  2. I’m over here cracking up laughing. This isn’t just Indie Soul concerts though. This applies to ALL concerts LOL. ESPECIALLY 1, 2, and absolutely 3. SMH! We’ve got to do better.

Leave a Reply

